I’m No. 4819

Hosted by the Madison Homebrewers and Tasters Guild, the Great Taste of the Midwest is a mere two months away. I’ve heard lots of great things about this festival, and have had it on my to-do list for many moons.

But there’s the worry: it’s limited to 5,000 attendees. Some of the tickets are sold in Madison, and some are lotteried off. To get into the lotto, one must mail their cash on May 1. Not postmarked on or before May 1. Postmarked on May 1. So with serious intent, I had that day highlighted on my calendar for months. I had a week before that day highlighted. I had two days before that day highlighted. I couldn’t forget, couldn’t screw this up. On top of all that hardcore remembering and reminding of myself, I had to face the facts: I might not get drawn. Some have tried for multiple years with no luck.

Worry, worry, worry.

I got picked! My wife and I are headed to Madison in August. Our tickets arrived over the weekend. I’ve booked into a B&B, and have meals, beers, bars and brewery visits planned. So many new beers to try! I’ve never attended a festival in this part of the country. A whole new world of local beer is about to reveal itself.

So much to look forward to. New beers. New breweries to visit. And beer friends. If you’re going to be around, give me a shout, I’d love to say hello to a brewvana reader or two. I’m already planning on meeting Matt, from Flossmoor, and hope to get up with some of the beermapping crew, as well.

5 Responses to I’m No. 4819

  1. virgil g says:

    I gave a friend some cash and he went up to Madison to stand in line. So, I’ll be there too… the guy with the Mohawk (well, maybe one of them).

    Can I recommend you get to Grumpy Troll in Mount Horeb, it’s a short drive just outside of Madison. If you are feeling like driving a little bit further, go down to New Glarus.

    V

  2. Wilson says:

    New Glarus is definitely on our list, but I’m not sure if we’ll make it to Grumpy Troll. I’ve heard good things about it.

  3. Dave says:

    Wilson, first, I hope you and the family are doing all right with all the flooding in Iowa! Just crazy the reports coming out of there. Take care!

    About GTotMW — a wonderful experience. We’ve had a contingent from you old homebrew club go a few times now. I have enjoyed the trips and sidetrips before the festival as much as the actual festival. I’d recommend Lake Louie in Arena. Out of the way place, but the guy is great. And we really enjoyed Tyranena, too. Have a GREAT time.

  4. virgil g says:

    My buddy finally gave me my tix last night, I’m numbers 1031 and 1032. So now we’ll definitely see you there.

  5. Deuane says:

    Dont know what my ticket numbers are but…I know I have 4 of them and we are certianly on our way!

    As far as the Grumpy Troll…..if you are going to New Glarus you HAVE to stop in at the GT and grab a pint (or two)! You would be a fool not to! They make some seriously good stuff! But, I imagine that they will be at the fest.

    I must recommend a trip to NG though simply to see their new, state of the art, shiny and BE-OOO-TIF-UL brewery…located about 1 mile down the road from the original place. All I can say is, Wow…Spotted Cow sure can buy a lot of stainless!

Leave a comment