Etched in chalk

image

Wonderful Beer Wife and I stopped by Rock Bottom-Des Moines today for a late lunch, and noticed by their chalkboard that it was time I shared a little information on a project that I’ve been working on for a few months, though for the moment, it’s only time for the short story.

I’m working on a book, and part of that plan involves more than a little doppelbock. Graciously, Brewmaster Eric Sorensen has agreed to play along, and scale up one of my homebrew recipes for a one-off commercial release.

We’re slated to brew on Jan. 27, and have a Fat Tuesday release party planned for March 8. Illuminator Doppelbock will begin flowing at 6 p.m., and at 7 p.m. we’ll turn loose a crawfish boil for your tastebud pleasure.

This is a special day for a humble homebrewer, and I invite you to carve out some time in your calendar to join us for the festivities.

5 Responses to Etched in chalk

  1. Glenn says:

    Absolutely awesome news!! On the beer front and the book! I want a first edition of both🙂

  2. Wilson says:

    Geez, Glenn, I haven’t heard from you in ages. How’s everything? We may have to work up another trade, a growler of my doppelbock for something of Sean’s. I’m dying to try some of his stuff.

  3. Adam says:

    Congrats, it’s like having your beer get it’s own star on Hollywood Boulevard. Unless some miraculous timing occurs, I probably won’t be around to be “Illuminated”. Good luck with your endeavours.

  4. Wilson says:

    Yeah, poor Adam: “I can’t make it because I’ll be brewing in Munich.”

  5. […] few days ago I mentioned my doppelbock collaboration with Eric Sorensen of Rock Bottom Restaurant and Brewery–Des Moines, and it’s time to […]

Leave a Reply

