Riffing on Grandma, Part 2

Once again, I find myself twisting a grandma classic in a new direction.

This time, the Grandma Fusion takes on my Great-grandma Polson’s killer meat loaf recipe. I’m not the only person who feels strongly about how good her recipe is. A few year’s back, my Grandma Johnston (G. Polson’s oldest daughter, of Granny’s Liquor Cabinet fame) told me a story of this recipe: “I made it when we were first married; Gramps said, ‘Don’t ever use another recipe for meat loaf.'”

In 58 years of marriage, she didn’t. I haven’t either, until now. I just got this craving for a twist this time around. I had a hankering for a bleu cheese burger and since the temperatures have been in the single digits a lot lately, forgive me for not firing up the grill. Instead, I decided to stuff the meat loaf with a healthy whomp of bleu cheese.

Grandma’s Meat Loaf

(feel free to stuff with bleu cheese and raise a pint in her honor):

1 pound ground beef

1/2 cup uncooked oatmeal

1 small onion, diced

1/2 cup milk

1 beaten egg

1/8 tsp. black pepper

1 1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. prepared mustard

Combine all ingredients and form into a loaf on a sheet pan. Drizzle with ketchup and bake at 325F for 60 minutes. Slice and serve with a brown or amber ale or amber lager. A good pale ale works great with the bleu cheese version.

Leave a Reply

