Time isn’t holding us

“You may ask yourself, ‘what is that beautiful house?’

Your may ask yourself, ‘where does that highway lead to?’

You may ask yourself, ‘am I right, am I wrong?’

You may say to yourself, ‘my god, what have I done'”

-David Byrne, et al

They say that the more things change, the more they stay the same, and I gotta say that I find this to be eerily true when I think of my old buddy from elementary school, Matt Newberg.

We re-connected on Facebook about a year ago, and found that though we’d both moved thousands of miles away from our roots over the course of the last decade or two, we’re still as ideally suited for friendship as we were in the days of baseball cards and Chrissy Waldron. Today, we’re both homebrewers, food dorks and neither one of us bothers with cable TV.

The last time I saw him was on a night of road-to-nowhere, cheap beer shenanigans when we were juniors in high school. We finally got around to sitting down and sharing a beer together last night through the magic of cyberspace–he was in Florida and I was in Iowa, and we shared a bottle of New Belgium’s Sahti that I picked up in Colorado a couple of weeks ago. Matt’s been on a juniper kick lately and so I offered to track this beer down as an excuse to drink a pint with a long, lost friend.

While we shared geekery on the brew itself, our chat room conversation really twisted in a million other directions, like catching-up conversations will do between two people who haven’t seen each other for a million years. The beer brought us together–like it is wont to do–and then the good old days (and a look at the future’s possibilities) kicked in.

My God, what have I done? I’ve made a good friend, and thank goodness, he’s the same as he ever was…

Leave a Reply

