Barstool Mountaineering, Vol. 2, Part 5

We traveled over 2,000 miles in search of beer and deliciousness (and a little family time). In that time, we visited four breweries and drank 40 different beers from a total of 12 different breweries.

While there were many Colorado beers that made me smile, a few stood out, and I thought I’d take a moment to highlight them. The best beer at Trinity was a Great Divide beer: Colette, a refreshing and reliable saison.

Another favorite was Left Hand‘s 400-Pound Monkey. This is actually a beer I can access in my market, but for whatever reason, I haven’t gotten around to trying it. I’ve looked forward to this American-made English IPA, and I wasn’t disappointed. Further, it’s wrapped in one of my all-time favorite labels.

On the not-really-a-particular-style front, I really enjoyed Durango Brewing Company‘s Derail Ale. It’s an 8.5% abv golden ale with 44 IBUs. Like Colette, this was refreshing in spite of its strength.

Best Beer by a Stream? That would be Ska’s Ten Pin Porter, which we enjoyed while camping somewhere near the Continental Divide.

Best Beer with a Killer Burger: New Belgium‘s Ranger IPA, served with The Big Hawg (a fresh, handformed 1/2 pound burger with hickory smoked bacon, pepper jack cheese, hot link sausage, grilled red onions and Doug’s hickory barbecue sauce, served on a bakery-fresh bun at Bear Creek Saloon and Grill in Pagosa Springs)

Most Disappointing Beer: Oskar Blues’ Gubna. We visited this brewery last year and I love the brewpub and all their other beers. But I don’t like Summit hops. So I don’t care for this beer.

Many other tasty beers, too numerous to mention. It was a great trip, and it did it’s job.

2 Responses to Barstool Mountaineering, Vol. 2, Part 5

  1. Adam says:

    great pics as always. I love the pic of the river and rocks. would make a great postcard…..”wish you were here” LOL

  2. […] Barstool Mountaineering, Vol. 2, Part 5 Best Beer with a Killer Burger: New Belgium's Ranger IPA, served with The Big Hawg (a fresh, handformed 1/2 pound burger with hickory smoked bacon, pepper jack cheese, hot link sausage, grilled red onions and Doug's hickory barbecue . […]

Leave a Reply

