Mr. Dunkel Risin’

Dunkel, year two, is ready to roll.

Last year’s was a study beer, with 100% Munich malt and 100% Tettnanger hops. I added additional dry hops to half of the 10 gallon batch (I called them Jack and Meg). Of course, Meg was somehow more shapely, enticing and lip-touchable.

This year, I added a a little crystal malt and, a touch of roasted barley for color. I didn’t dry hop, but I did give it a nice finishing dose. I call it Ludwig.

I pulled a sample last night, and for comparison, enjoyed a bottle of Metropolitan’s Dynamo Copper Lager. Mine’s darker, unfiltered and more yeasty, but they’re both tasty little quaffers. I bounced back and forth between the two, accompanying the last of our homemade Polish sausage and some sauerkraut that my friend Adam made. Yep, and some of our homemade mustard. Life was really delicious.

2 Responses to Mr. Dunkel Risin’

  1. Velky Al says:

    What kind of mash did you do? A double or triple decoction?

  2. Wilson says:

    Last year I did a double decoction: https://brewvana.wordpress.com/2009/03/22/jack-and-meg/

    This year I was brewing with my extract-considering-all-grain cousin, and decided not to complicate matters with a painful mash schedule, so if I remember right, I simply mashed at 148 for an hour.

Leave a Reply

