2 1/2 years to tame a slut

First off, this is the longest it’s ever taken me to finish off a sixer.

I found a disturbing and and posturing slut of a beer in the first bottle.

The second bottle with fresh eyes and six months of age was still an unenjoyable hop hell.

The third time I got into this purchase, it was a year-and-a-half old–and tasty.

At the two-and-a-half year mark, it’s time for the final bottle.

Kyle stopped by on Meat Day and we shared it. Having a relationship with this specific sixpack of beer longer than a few girls I’ve put up with–or to be honest–girls that have put up with me at times, it’s been nice to see it back off and become easier to live with.

In both the aroma and flavor, it reminded me of a bottle of three-year-old Dogfish Head 90-minute IPA that Eric once brought to a CARBOY meeting (or was that a BJCP study session?). Not that these were the same beers in their infancy–the continuous hopping strategy of Sam and Company breeds a balanced and invigorating hop experience, while the Bell’s offering just throws down a girl that’s angry with her old man for either being there (or not being there). Nudge, nudge, know what I mean?

With a little more age, the malt profile had definitely emerged, and the hop profile subsided, and if you’re anything like me, you like a girl with a touch more sweetness than bitterness.

What’s that Everclear song?

“I think she slept with me just so she could piss off her father.”

In any case, time heals all wounds, and this beer was good the other day. It took two and a half years of therapy, but finally, it had worked through its issues.

But my question is, why would you purposely unleash this beer before it is ready? In the last few days/weeks/months, I’ve had New Glarus’ Iced Barley Wine and Great Divide’s Old Ruffian, and both have brought immediate pleasure. I, for one, don’t want to spend twelve bucks on such a temperamental relationship. Knowing that age improves and age is necessary are two different things when I’m in the beer aisle.

One Response to 2 1/2 years to tame a slut

  1. Velky Al says:

    I have half a six pack of this delight sat in the cellar aging. I think the next one will be had on my birthday, when it should be about a year old.

Leave a Reply

