Granny’s Liquor Cabinet, part 2

Every winter I take a minor sidestep from the world of beer, and usually that means knitting a batch of my Grandma Johnston’s coffee liqueur recipe. This year I finally switched it up and made her peppermint schnapps recipe, something I’ve been wanting to try for a coon’s age, as they say around here.

I always give some thought to what a wonderful grandma she has been to me when I make one of her recipes, whether meatloaf (which is actually her mom’s recipe) or booze, but this year is even a little more pensive, as this is the time I’ve turned to her liquor cabinet since she passed away a little over a year ago.

If you give this one a go, please raise a glass to her memory.

Grandma Johnston’s Peppermint Schnapps

11 cups water

3 3/4 cups sugar

1 1/2 pints Everclear

1 oz. peppermint extract

Bring water and sugar to a boil, and then simmer 10 minutes. Let cool, then add remaining ingredients. Gulp as desired.

While I wouldn’t change a thing about her Kahlua recipe, I honestly think this could use a little more alcohol kick to it. Next time I’ll do her cinnamon version, just because I remember her making that once, and when I do, I’ll toss in two pints of Everclear and drop the sugar just a touch.

One Response to Granny’s Liquor Cabinet, part 2

Leave a Reply

