Oktober-Fiesta ’09

DSC03589Last night we hosted our second Oktober-Fiesta o-fest tasting at the Burrito, a gathering this time of 8 different oktoberfest-style biers:

Spaten

Warsteiner

Point

Summit

Paulaner

Bell’s

Flying Dog

Schell’s

Consensus marked the top four performers as as Flying Dog’s Dogtoberfest Marzen (clearly we agreed with last week’s and last year’s GABF judges), Paulaner’s Oktoberfest Marzen, Schell’s Octoberfest and Spaten’s Oktoberfest Ur-Marzen. I’ve listed the top four in my personal order of preference. Paulaner solidified the number two spot on aroma–so wonderful. But the Dogtober was tough to beat. Incidentally, those two possess a pair of the cooler labels I’ve seen lately. But it’s what’s inside the bottle that truly shines. Drink them with passion.

Prosit!

2 Responses to Oktober-Fiesta ’09

  1. Good Burp says:

    I completely agree! Godtoberfest is my favorite. They are just a kick ass brewery. And their Oktoberfest is proof of that.
    I wish I could try the Schell’s, Point, Summit, and Bell’s, but neither is avaiable on the west coast. I’m curious, what did you think of them?

  2. Wilson says:

    I really liked the Schell’s, which we had on draught. Point was pretty lackluster. Summit was decent. I have a love-hate relationship with Bell’s, and this one fell on the disappointing side of my scorecard. It was okay, just not all I hoped for from them.

Leave a Reply

