Beer Guy from a Kid’s Eye, Part 5

How do you make a logo for a concept, an idea, an intangible? I’ve been asking myself, “What kind of swoosh must I slap on a piece of paper to have a recognizeable logo for brewvana?”

Brewvana is a place, but not one with a specific skyline. It is a state of being. It is a lifestyle. It’s the convergence of beer splattered upon a whole buncha good parts of life. It’s an attitude. It’s flavor.

It’s an ideal condition of harmony, beer and joy.

It’s taken 2 years, but finally, the Jake has sorted it out. It needs some tweaking for shirts and, you know, billboards and whatnot, but here it is, just in time for our second anniversary (and the planning of a trip to brewvana [the Madison kind], from which Kyle and I just returned).

While the design reminds me of The Map Room in Chicago, it’s actually inspired by a picture in a children’s book about pirates. How appropriate, I think.

Anyway, without much further ado, here ’tis:

brewvana-1

One Response to Beer Guy from a Kid’s Eye, Part 5

  1. thisiswhyidrink says:

    Love it! I have been working on 4 logos as of late. For blogs and for a couple start up businesses? (Is that a word). By trade, I am a graphics guy. From experoience, I will tell you that when you do it for yourself, it is the hardest thing in the world to do. I like your concept. I can’t wait to see it finished. In the next 30 days, I will have a couple new logos for my business, and possibly one for a blog or 2. Good job!

Leave a Reply

