The Barter System

How to pay for a burritoHow does that saying go again? “One man’s burrito is another man’s beer.”

I don’t think that’s it, but that was certainly operating procedure yesterday, as Matt and Jenni Van Wyk rolled through town on their Oregon Trail. They walked in the door with beery gifts from Matt’s award-winning days at Flossmoor Station. While I had homebrews for them to try, my reciprocation took the form of salsa and electric burritos. The barter system is alive and well, and when mixed with good company (and beer), I can’t think of anything better. The economy was good yesterday. Delicious, in fact.

With Sarge, X-IPA and Wooden Hell to go, Michelle and I tucked into Collaborative Evil last night, the special occasion being the fact that we had a bottle of Collaborative Evil in our possession. A 10% abv Belgian Style Ale brewed with raisins, honey and spices, this beer is part of a collaboration with Todd Ashman (FiftyFifty) and Zac Triemert (Lucky Bucket). It’s a goblet of deep mahogany with healthy slices of spices wrapped around raisins and malt depth. The alcohol was amazingly well-hidden. Good stuff.

For more on the Van Wyk saga, check his new home at Oakshire Brewing. Looks like there may be updates along the Trail…

—–

PS–did anyone else notice that two of the big items on Matt’s list before starting his new job were going to Belgium for beer and going to Corning, Iowa for beer?

One Response to The Barter System

  1. Marilyn James says:

    Ormita has a website with the history of barter on it which I found interesting – http://www.ormita.com/history-of-barter.html

    I saw a timeline that they also published on money and barter but I cannot find it any more. Either way we have considered using them because they seem to know a bit about bartering.

    The risks I see with barter exchanges are:
    inflation (exchange owners spending barter dollars they dont have)
    the wrong mix of members (everyone wanting my product/service but me having nothing to buy)
    poor credit control (creating more inflation)

    the only reason I liked the Ormita guys was that they let me join and trade but didnt let me sell until I had things to buy. I had ot fill out a buying schedule of everything I currently spent cash on and then they went away and 30 days later they came back with those things and THEN i started buying and selling. The risks seemed lower to me.

    I flirted with ITEX and other barter systems but i always ended up selling more than I could ever buy. Like I said – barter can be useful but watch out. I think Ormita don’t consider themselves a “barter” system as such – but more an excess capacity exchange or commodity exchange or something. I heard the sales pitch and the difference was a little outside my scope but maybe its just that the trades take place in a relatively short time (both buy and sell) so Im always close to $0 in my account because i spend everything I earn? Anyway if someone has a copy of their “timeline” of barter I’d be interested in getting one. I know I saw it somewhere on the web from Ormita but I cant seem to locate it again. It would be useful to take another look at.

Leave a Reply

