Changing the world, one beer drinker at a time

Two Stories…

1. Monday, we hosted a stout and porter tasting at the Burrito. Our buddy Adam brought along a friend who wasn’t a “dark beer” guy. While stouts and porters are dark beers, he seemed to enjoy them. Last night, he came in again with his wife and family for dinner…

He ordered a STOUT!

That’s all I’m looking for. We’re here to change the world, one beer drinker at a time.

Thats Norma Jean in the red, at the head of the table.

That's Norma Jean in the red, at the head of the table.

2. Last winter, I hosted a beer tasting for a group of women. My beloved Norma Jean was among those in attendance. I don’t suppose I’ve directly changed her life–she’s more of a margarita girl–but I do have to call attention to her. In reality, she’s something mighty close to a grandmother to me, as she and her husband Harold (my wife is the president of his fan club, incidentally) have been close family friends for decades.

Anyway, as is the case any time someone I know takes a trip, when they mentioned a jaunt up to Wisconsin to visit their son: “Hey, can you bring me back some beer?” They know me. They know my philosophy. They know how I live. They know what I’ve been doing to educate the people of this rural landscape. Of course, Norma Jean and Harold will bring me back some beer. A sixer of New Glarus Uff-Da Bock arrived safely yesterday. They couldn’t find any of the Iced Barley Wine. Though they tried!

That’s all I’m looking for, people in their seventies and eighties willing to make a beer run–because I changed the world, one beer drinker at a time.

Leave a Reply

