Hot Buttered Dogfish Head Rum

Hot Buttered Dogfish Head RumThough I live a largely beery life, one of the great things about cold weather is the occasional hot toddy.

For me, it’s hot buttered rum. Thankfully, I can keep my beer spending conscience clear by supporting the craft beer, etc. stylings of Sam and company by pulling out well-nursed bottle of Dogfish Head Brown Honey Rum. Here’s what the bottle says:

“A profound & intricate twice-distilled, handcrafted rum settled on American Oak with wildflower honey.”

I’ve had this bottle for several years. The bottle says it was produced on September 13, 2005. That sounds about right, around the time of our first Delaware vacation. Ridiculous, I know. We’ve vacationed in Delaware more than once. I suppose you can guess why.

Anyhow, here’s the official brewvana recipe for hot buttered rum:

Combine 1 tsp sugar, 1/2 tsp butter, 1 shot rum and 4 cloves in a mug. Fill with boiling water. Stir. Add cinnamon stick.

NOTE: I once thought that surely it’d taste better if I used brown sugar, but not so. I prefer white table sugar. Then turbinado.

Cheers!

2 Responses to Hot Buttered Dogfish Head Rum

  1. purlygrrrl says:

    My mother used to drink buttered rum when I was a little girl. I haven’t thought about it in ages. I am drinking this tonight– what a perfectly nostalgic tonic! Thanks for the recipe.

  2. Good Burp says:

    Why did you have to show that to me? That was cruel. I can’t get that ever. I’m going to take my still readily available beer, and go home.

Leave a Reply

