Django

Raccoon River Brewing Company’s Django is brewed in the style of a French bier de garde as a house beer for a French restaurant of the same name located by the brewery.

I first had a taste of this beer back in March when head brewer Dave Coy sent a lunch keg to a Des Moines homebrew competition. It was a welcome stylistic change, and I looked forward to trying it again when I didn’t have so many beers clogging my tastebuds and memory (I was judging that day). Plus, that keg was very cold.

That opportunity came recently when we tucked into a growler delivered by my brother-in-law Matt.

It pours a brownish-amber with a laid-back head. Cool, creamy mouthfeel with spicy phenols over malt in the aroma. The flavors match the aroma and I wonder if the phenols would drop some if this brew had the opportunity to hang cold for a couple of months. That would be best, but I don’t know what Raccoon River has for tank time and space.

Still, this is a fine beer, and I look forward to the next time it graces my glass.

Leave a Reply

