Bourbon-barreled birthday beer

I’m not one of those people that gives a big flippy crap about being treated special on my birthday. I don’t demand that day off of work. I don’t need much in the way of a present. The best gift I ever got was my firstborn twelve years ago. Tough to top that one.

Jake and I celebrated our 48th birthday yesterday.

I’m not too demanding, but I recognize an excuse for a Tasty Libation when I see one. This year’s beery birthday toast to my mom, who did all the real work so many years ago, was Goose Island’s Bourbon County Stout.

Holy Crap, this is a good beer.

First, you take a delicious Russian Imperial stout:

big, lovable body, roasty, chocolaty, coffee-toned bitterness, warmth

Then you toss it in a bourbon barrel:

oaky, vanilla, bourbon

Good, good stuff. All well-melded. That chocolate was divine. Just a great nightcap. And worthy of special day. Or any other day.

3 Responses to Bourbon-barreled birthday beer

  1. Chipper Dave says:

    That stuff sounds delicious! I’m going to seek out as many wood aged beers as possibles at the GABF this year. Let’s hope this will be one of em!

  2. Glenn says:

    Happy birthday there old man! The AARP card will be in the mail soon😉

  3. virgil g says:

    Rumor has it that 2008 will be coming out in November.

Leave a Reply

