Goblet of Fire

IA beer out of NC glassware

IA beer out of NC glassware

We’ve had friends and family visiting from North Carolina these past few weekends, and to be sure, we’ve had some beery goodness and great food.

We chowed down on burgers with bleu cheese, locally made cheeses, fresh salsas, burritos and one invention that I’m not even allowed to share until we get it copyrighted. It was so delicious. Incredible. But enough about that.

My uncle and cousin brought sixers of Duck-Rabbit Milk Stout and Big Boss Hell’s Belle to give me my NC Beer fix. And I, of course, had several beers I wanted them to try. Lovely stuff.

My cousin, the film student, needed the star power of my boys and me to bring a project to fruition–so it wasn’t all beer, food, fun and games. We also acted for a day and a half, though I haven’t seen any money for my efforts.

Maytag Burger with corn-on-the-cob and Ceremony Abbey Ale

Maytag Burger with corn-on-the-cob and Ceremony Abbey Ale

By the time Heather and Paul (and Mia, Evan and Jack-knife) arrived we’d pulled out the bocce balls and horseshoes and had a fair amount of yard-type fun. Oh yeah, and bonfires, which brings me to the title of the post: Goblet of Fire.

Among the beers I shared with my uncle was Goose Island’s Pere Jacques. I recently found this one and was quickly blown away. De-freaking-licious malt presence in a glorious Belgian-styled brew. As tasty as it was, it really is one of those beers I could sit around and smell all day without so much as a sip.

Anyway, while fooling around with my beer and my camera sitting around the fire roasting marshmallows, I managed this photo of that beer, and thought I should share:

Pere Jacques is not a chili beer and it is not a smoked beer, but I think this image of it with the fire in the background sums up the delight of this nectar. It is a wonderful Goblet of Fire of a beer, and I don’t have to write a review that includes tedious flavors and aromas my amazing senses have picked up or made up. I don’t have to tell you that cinnamon comes on in a perfect melded chorus of delight as the beer warms. I don’t have to tell you about the dance happening in this goblet, the sensual wrestling of masculinity and femininity in this beer.

I just have to take this picture and give you those 1000 words.

Leave a Reply

