Paradise found?

So  the question is: How’s Wilson’s attempt at putting Good Beer into a place unaccustomed to Good Beer?

I have to say, I’m pleasantly surprised at this point. Electric Burrito (here’s a map), has been up and running for two weeks now, and while we’ve gone through a truckload more margaritas than beers, people have been very receptive to my endeavors to change their lives (or at least their drinking habits).

By way of review, I should mention that I have 3 Mexican beers and about a dozen regionally-focused craft beers, led by two Iowa-brewed taps. I have no Bud, Miller or Coors. Corona is my compromise offering.

I bought a sixth barrel keg of Millstream Brewing Company’s John’s Generations White Ale, figuring it might take about a month to get through it. The first keg was gone in a week. I ordered a third today. As expected, the Stonecutter Stout from Raccoon River Brewing Company has taken longer to move. That keg has turned over because my wife and I have had a few nips, and have homebrewing buddies/volunteer laborers that dig this dark nectar. Still, we have landed a few stout converts, pumped about this beer, further amazed at the idea of and flavor of pairing it with our Mexican Chocolate Cake.

Thusfar, we haven’t had any serious backlash from customers for not offering macro beer. We’ve trained our staff to offer suggestions and brief flavor profiles for alternatives. Very few people have been disappointed. Several surprised. Many excited.

That is cool. As the saying goes from that Iowa baseball movie: “If you build it, they will come.” This is the God’s honest truth. Offer an alternative, and people will respond. Offer an education, and people will learn. Offer flavor and people will taste it–and like it.

It’s only just begun, but it’s a good beginning…

2 Responses to Paradise found?

  1. Matt says:

    Enlightening. Hailing from an Iowa town of roughly 3,000 I expect if I brought my “fancy beers” back home it’d be a hard sell. A select few friends and family enjoy the imbibe, but it’s good to know a little education might just change a few midwesterners veiw of beer! Cheers and continued good luck!

  2. Boak says:

    Delighted to hear it! Hope it continues to go well, and you’re not badly affected by the floods.

Leave a Reply

