Special Occasion Mentality

We beer enthusiasts tend toward a special occasion mentality. Even for “minor” special occasions (grilling out with friends, brother-in-law is coming over, etc). I’m always thinking about what would be the right beer for the occasion.

Of course the weather and seasons factor in to our decisions. Specific holidays lend themselves to specific beers, or at least beer families. While some drink blasphemic green beer on St. Patrick’s Day, no one really says, “Ah, St. Patty’s Day! Let’s score a bottle of Westmalle Tripel and celebrate! No, that’s a stoutandporter type of day.

So last Thursday brought me an opportunity to celebrate. I needed a special beer. I’d known what it would be for quite some time. Thursday was opening day for my new restaurant that I’ve mentioned severally in the few posts I’ve managed in recent weeks.

The celebration beer? New Belgium Brewing Company’s La Folie. Here’s what NB’s website has to say:

La Folie Wood-Aged Biere, is our original wood-conditioned beer, resting in French Oak barrels between one and three years before being hand bottled, numbered and corked for your enjoyment. Brewmaster, Peter Bouckaert, came to us from Rodenbach – home of the fabled sour red. Our La Folie emulates the spontaneous fermentation beers of Peter’s beloved Flanders with sour apple notes, a dry effervescence, and earthy undertones.

What do I say? I love this beer. These Belgian sour libations. With all the time and attention that goes into making one, they tend to be a special occasion beer for me, now and again. Not like a brown ale tastes great with a grilled burger stuffed with Maytag Bleu Cheese good, but I just worked my ass off converting an office space into a restaurant good. Thank you friends for all your hard (and free) work good. Wow! We just served a packed house who loved our food, beer and atmosphere good.

It was a great day, and deserved a great beer. La Folie measured up.

3 Responses to Special Occasion Mentality

  1. chipperdave says:

    I always ask for a La Folie whenever I visit New Belgium. It’s got a character unlike any other beer I’ve tasted. Best sipped. Good stuff. Love the sour effect.

  2. Dave says:

    I took one of those back from Denver (a group of fellow homebrewers made a side trip to NB) last year when the NHB convention was there. I’m waiting for the special occasion. Sounds like the opening was a great success! Congratulations.

  3. Daphne says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Daphne!!

Leave a Reply

