Free the Hops needs your support

Free the HopsFor three years, Alabama’s Free the Hops has been working to change bad beer laws. Who’s Free the Hops? From their website:

Free The Hops | Alabamians For Specialty Beer is a grassroots, citizen-driven movement solely committed to lifting the 6% alcohol by volume and 1 pint container limits for beer brewed or sold in Alabama.

We are an Alabama incorporated nonprofit—comprised of volunteers who, like you, enjoy the world’s wide selection of beer styles. We are a diverse group composed of writers, architects, IT professionals, and many others.

It’s been a long, hard road, and guess who’s standing in the way? A guy by the name of Pat Lynch, the vice president at Birmingham Budweiser, an Alabama Anheiser-Busch distributor. His undermining efforts must stop. Our brothers and sisters in Alabama need our help.

Free the Hops has launched a boycott of Anheiser-Busch products. Further, we can whip out our dialing fingers and call Pat. In a firm, but respectful manner, call Pat Lynch and implore him to throw his support behind the Free the Hops campaign. Ask him to make his stance public with a press release. Ask him to help, not hinder, the world of beer.

This guy puzzles me. This ain’t rock ‘n roll, where even bad publicity is good publicity. This is business, and he’s hurting his. And all of beer. I hope his bosses are paying attention. I hope you’ll take a few minutes today to help get his attention.

Here’s his phone number: (205) 945- 4893.

What, you can’t call? Here’s an email address: customerservice@bhambud.com

Rather call A-B corporate? 1 (800) 342 5283

Remember, be respectful, but firm. We don’t want our zealotry to backfire and harm Free the Hops or Alabama in any way.

I finally got my phone call made this morning, and I feel better already. Of course, he was out of the office, so I left a message. He should be calling back any time now. Just in case, I sent him an email. I’ll let you know what he says when I hear back from him.

Having been involved in North Carolina’s Pop the Cap campaign, and having seen the results of the lifting of the alcohol limit, I know how hard this is for the volunteers involved, but I also know how big the payoff is.

Let’s give ’em a hand.

5 Responses to Free the Hops needs your support

  1. Christopher says:

    As someone new to the “real beer” scene, I am defiantly not a “hop-head”. After several months of trying just about everything, I lean toward the low to medium hoped beers (I love a good bitter and even an ESB when not hopped up American style). When I do go for higher hops, I want the Euro hops – the British nail our hops as “weedy”.

    SO, why not “Free the Beer”, as the more weedy hops we can keep off the market the better….:)

  2. Wilson says:

    I dunno. I’m more concerned about the issue, not the name. It probably wasn’t called Free Beer and Hotwings because http://www.freebeerandhotwings.com was already taken. Or not.

    Anywho, even beers that don’t have hops as a showcase element have hops playing an important role. They’re important. Let’s free ’em.

  3. Christopher says:

    “Free Beer and Hotwings” LOL!

    I of course was just trying to co-opt the issue for my own screed. You rightly put the focus back…;)

  4. popthecap says:

    Pat hasn’t returned my call. He has called others back, including some CEOs of sizable breweries.

    He’s a smooth talker who will convince you he’s for the bill, just not in its current form. We encountered a good number of those types of people with Pop The Cap. In general, they lie. Their mission is do confuse, delay, and obfuscate in order to achieve continued personal gain.

    Or not, as Wilson might say. Velveeta was once a prominent US cheese brand.

  5. clehmann says:

    Hey I stumbled across this a little late, but you should note that this was a boycott of products distributed by Birmingham Budweiser (The local Birmingham, AL A/B distributor), not a national bud boycott. Many of the other A/B distributors in the state actually support FTH.

Leave a Reply

