Thirsty Thursday–lime research

limeI don’t really believe this, but I’ll say it anyway. You can’t always drink beer.

Sometimes one has other work to do. And for me this week, that has meant putting some thought into margaritas. Work, work, work. I’m opening a Mexican restaurant in a couple of months, and with a lot of groundwork laid, as well as red tape happening in other areas of the adventure, I find myself with time to think about my beer options. And my margarita options.

So, with nose to the grindstone, Michelle and I sat down to three different versions of margarita. Then I had a beer.

In the coming weeks, we’ll probably try about 20 other variations on the theme. Work, work, work.

Then I’ll have a beer.

9 Responses to Thirsty Thursday–lime research

  1. Kyle says:

    If you need some assistance with the margarita project let me know. I have come to like margarita’s, even though I don’t like straight Tequilla.

  2. atlsavvy says:

    The Margarita Project. Sounds like a covert operation to firebomb Mexico. I’m in.

  3. Wilson says:

    We’re not bombing anyone. We’re bringing flavor to the world.

    Kyle, I’m sure you’ll get in on some of this important work. The Margarita Project it is.

    Has anyone ever had Sammy Hagar’s Cabo Wabo stuff?

  4. Matt says:

    There is a fairly new family owned California style Mexican restaraunt near our house called Cafe Capistrano. They make their margaritas with wine instead of Tequila. My wife and I love them. Their real fruity and lite. The food is great too.

  5. Matt, I just checked out Cafe Capistrano’s Web site. I assume we are talking about the restaurant in Raleigh . I use to live in San Juan Capistrano, so the name caught my eye. I’ve got their nice little Web site guitar piece playing in the background, as I type this. In addition to good homebrew, I love classical guitar. I’ll have to figure out the name of that piece. Anyway, Jay, you have to check out their site. It’s worth getting a good food photographer. Their dishes look delicious. Of course that could be because it’s after 8pm and I haven’t had dinner! Back to the margarita deal. That’s interesting that a wine margarita can be good. My wife and I have always just gone for the beer in those Mexican restaurants that don’t have a full liquor license. We probably had a wine margarita once, a hundred years ago, and haven’t tried one since. Next time!

  6. goldy says:

    I have a bottle of cabo. Stop by and give it a sample. Mont has tried it and likes it better than Don Julio. Plus I have a bottle of Trappistes Rochefort 10 for you to try. I bought 3 and didn’t care for it so I thought you might like to try it. e-mail me goldy

  7. brewera says:

    I have always thought that the best margaritas are made with a better than average tequila, real lime juice, and either Grand Marnier, or Cointreau. Simple ingredients and clean flavors.

  8. David says:

    Come on…saying Grand Marnier or Cointreau is like talking about apple and plum!
    one is cognac based, the other one is neutral spirit based
    one is amber color, the other one is vodka color
    one is intense, one is more light in taste
    So with all that it’s not the same result!!!

Leave a Reply

