Bon Scottish on St. Andrew’s Day

Bon ScottWhat an exciting day! I should have a beer today! More specifically, I should have an appropriate beer today.

As luck would have it (naaaah, it ain’t luck), I do have just the thing: my new 80 Shilling, which I call with great reverence: Bon Scottish Ale. Yes, yes, I know; Bon Scott and AC/DC are from Australia–but Bon “Death by Misadventure” Scott, one of the greatest frontmen of all time, was born in Scotland.

Perhaps I should call it, Johnston Ale after my gramps, or William Wallace Ale or even St. Andrew’s Ale. But no, I need to have a beer to commemorate Bon Scott. It’s yummy, a “live wire,” in fact. Built on malt with caramel and wisps of yeast-derived smoke, this “rocker” stops short of being “high voltage” or “TNT,” but satisfies like a “whole lotta Rosie.”

So to speak.

Wanna give it a go? Here’s the recipe:

Bon Scottish Ale

8 # Golden Promise

1/2 # Carapils

1/2 # Crystal (49-64L)

1/2 # Crystal (135-165L)

2 oz. East Kent Goldings (4% alpha–60 minutes)

Wyeast 1728 (Scottish Ale Yeast)

Mashed for one hour at 156F. Boiled first gallon for 30 minutes, then full wort for 60 minutes. Fermented 12 days @ 64F.

OG: 1.050

FG: 1.015

2 Responses to Bon Scottish on St. Andrew’s Day

  1. […] bringing in new dimensions and ideas for flavors that a beer can possess. Then came my homebrewed Bon Scottish Ale, a Scottish 80 shilling that would give us a flavor reference leaning toward malt character. Next, […]

  2. John Beattie says:

    I’m not beatting about the bush, I’ll probably get shot down in flames for this, but I hope the grea, late bon scott is still on the highway to hell.

Leave a Reply

