The problem with planning

 

“Life is what happens while you’re busy making other plans.”

–John Lennon

 

“I would rather have a good plan today than a perfect plan two weeks from now.”

–General George S. Patton

The swirling beer ideas in my brain are constant. Today’s thirst. And tomorrow’s weather.

It’s this way when visiting Grandma Bev and Granddad Dave. “Oooh, that breakfast was perfect. What should we have for lunch?” Life is a constant map and compass, looking for the next meal. The next great meal. The next great meal.

For the conscientious eater and drinker like myself, it can truly be a burden. Tonight, it’ll be a pint of Revolution Ale (the oaked version), my colonial ale. And I’ll split a bottle of RIS with Michelle.

Thursday, I’ll be sampling Jimmy’s first homebrew.

After much deliberation, next weekend, I’m brewing a porter and a Scottish 80 Shilling. Next month, if the temperature in my basement allows it, I’ll do ten gallons of a Traditional bock, on the high end of the gravity spectrum. Rather than do a doppelbock this year (I’ll do that next year), I’ve decided to eis half of my big bock.

Presently, I’m leaving the brewing session to follow the bocks open, in case I have a whim. But with the fo’ sho’ ness, I’ll be ready for some dry stout after that. I’ll be needing to think about St. Patrick’s Day. Then, I might get a batch of my other Colonial recipe going–the Bob Ross happy accident that truly rocks. Then some Scottish stuff. Come May, my Flanders Red should be ready to keg.

The only thing I know for sure is that I’m not planning on drinking anything light next summer. A saison will be my lightest summer beer next year. I’ll follow it with a porter, most certainly.

However, I’ve got to keep in mind the words of the late Jim Morrison: “The future is uncertain, and the end is always near.”

I could get hit by a truck tomorrow and find myself drinking a lot of commercial stuff.

Or not.

One Response to The problem with planning

  1. […] So a few times now, I’ve mentioned my Revolution Ale (here and here and here.) I suppose I should more than mention it, but talk about […]

Leave a Reply

