A day in the life of a beer geek

My life is rather beer-centric. The mention of any sort of trip sends my cogs into action: Where should we eat? Where should we have a beer? What breweries are there? Anything I can’t get in my own market? What’s the best beer store? Where haven’t I been? Do I need anything at the homebrew store?

As I sit here, dork-adelic, planning tomorrow’s agenda in Omaha, I thought I might share the goofy way I think and function.

I started my day by checking my email. Woo-hoo! a Google alert about beer stuff. Very interesting: hop prices, somebody called 911 because they ran out of beer. A while back, some guy had surgery to have a beer bottle removed from his…

Well, then I checked to see what interesting topics were being discussed on Beerinator (I sure would like to try Kolschboy’s porter). As I’m no longer in North Carolina, I don’t bother chiming in, but it’s fun to know what’s happening there, and to hear what friends are talking about. Following Beerinator, I check out The Beer Mapping Project‘s forums. There, I post occasionally, and review and upload pictures whenever possible.

Next came a little blog reading. On a near daily basis, I check out Appellation Beer and Boak and Bailey. There are a number of other beer blogs that I check out, but those are two that I anticipate. They’re well written with content that I fancy, and with many views and elements of living a brewvanic life.

Tomorrow’s trip is centered on The Old Market. My wife’s attending a yoga workshop. We’ll visit the interesting shops and take in the atmosphere, while mulling over where to eat. On the beer front, Upstream came to mind. I paid a short visit once, and wanted to try and have a meal here, and sample a few more of their beers. But a look at The Beer Mapping Project points out that just a few blocks away, I’ll find Jobber’s Canyon. I’ve never been there, so I should go. Besides, no one has reviewed Jobber’s for the Project. I’d be doing the beer world a service if I went there and took a few pictures and assessed the atmosphere, beer, food and service.

Since we’ll be in Omaha, we’ve got to get a food fix, purchasing a few goodies at Wholefoods Market. On the way there, I’m not sure if we’ll have time to hit Crescent Moon Alehouse (beer bar) or Beertopia (beer store), but I definitely want to size up Fermenter’s Supply (another public service review opportunity and I need some yeast and a few specialty grains and hops for an upcoming brewing session).

I found this one via Google, and can’t remember if I read any Beer Advocate reviews (I have done a little work today interspersed with the beer research/trip planning in my day), but since I need to keep this day moving forward, I’m not going to track down another link for you. I’ve spent too much time on that already. Fermenter’s Supply will save me some shipping cost, keep some money relatively local and just give me a chance to check out another beery place.

There are a few other brewpubs I should hit, but the day’s but so long, and we’ll need to go easy so we can safely drive home. And how many meals can we jam into a day? I’ll have to do my best on the untried beers front during my visit to Wholefoods. They have good beer selection, so I should be able to find something new to try.

Seriously, I need to get back to work.

What else will I do today? I’ll have a beer after I take my jacket off–probably my homebrewed Revolution Ale–its a Colonial era recipe. I may have the oaked version. I haven’t decided. I’ll also make sure I have a Russian Imperial Stout in fridge to share with my wife tonight. She’ll love that. I’m thoughtful, you know. I’m full of thoughts, beery and otherwise.

If you’re reading this, there’s a good chance you’re like me. If not, you should be. I think about flavor and friends and family and food and beauty and atmosphere (and yes, beer) a lot. I’m very careful to make sure I have quality in my life. I take good care of myself: brewing is a great stress reliever and a way to be a little artistic.

I’m sure that before I go to bed, I’ll sneak another peek or two at those forums. I’ll print off a map for tomorrow’s trip. I might get around to listening to a Craftbeer Radio podcast, but probably not. I think I’m one episode behind, but I usually listen to those on weekend mornings. But definitely not tomorrow. I’ll read a bedtime story to my boys (we just started Steven Ambrose’s Undaunted Courage, at the request of my eight year old). There’s the outside chance that I’ll wake up in the night with a good reason to switch from my plan of brewing a porter to a milk stout. That thought will bother me all day. I’m positive I’m saving a Scottish Ale for the following brew session. Then with my basement cool enough–a bock. I’m always six months ahead on what to brew, but constantly changing (I’ll need this for the holiday season, and this for St. Paddy’s day. And, Yipee! my Flanders Red will be ready to keg in May. What a wonderful summer beer that’ll be. And, and, and…

If you’re a beer geek like me, you know how it is, and you enjoy it, don’t you? There’s either something wrong with us, or something terribly right.

Right or wrong, I think it’s good, a constant state of brewvana.

7 Responses to A day in the life of a beer geek

  1. brendan says:

    At Upstream be sure to get some of their 750’s for the road. And next to the Crescent moon, at least the last time I was there, was brewtopia. You should be able to get some stuff not available in IA there. Surprisingly enough the HY Vee in Council Bluffs at the Madison Ave exit has a great liquor store.

  2. hey_kevin says:

    If I’m not mistaken Jobbers Canyon is closed. Though I can’t provide a link.

    cheers,

    Kevin

    (Iowa City, IA)

  3. Wilson says:

    I’ll find out. Here’s the link: http://www.jobberscanyon.com/

  4. […] brewvana an ideal condition of harmony, beer and joy « A day in the life of a beer geek […]

  5. […] Thursday–Revolution Ale So a few times now, I’ve mentioned my Revolution Ale (here and and here and here.) I suppose I should more than mention it, but talk about […]

Leave a Reply

