Another brewer, a better world

“Praised is the mother who gives birth to a brewer.”

–Shakespeare

Kyle and Jimmy brewing up Batch #1

Despite the dreary weather, the world brightened a little over the weekend, as a new brewer entered the fold.

Early Sunday morning I dashed over to Jimmy’s house to help him with his first extract beer, a daring imperial porter, to which he added a vanilla bean for a touch of distninction. The session went amazingly quick–I’d forgotten that extract advantage–and the wort smelled spectacular. I can’t wait to try it.

It would be an understatement  to say that Jimmy can’t wait. He’s enthusiastic about the good stuff, and pumped to be making it himself. My wife points out that he’s 24 and expecting his first-born, like I was when I brewed my first beer. What an exciting time of life.

However, that underscores my transition to “old fart,” a role I’ll happily embrace, if it means passing along a little knowledge and excitement. I’ve learned so much from older and wiser brewers over the years. It’s pleasing to be categorized with them, as it contributes to a better future for us all.

To Jimmy, and all the young dudes!

One Response to Another brewer, a better world

  1. beerdoctor says:

    Amen.
    The Beer Doctor

Leave a Reply

