Thirsty Thursday–Monk’s Cafe

Monk’s Cafe Flemish Sour Ale

I looooooove Flanders Reds. Rodenbach Grand Cru is one one of my favorite beers. Actually, La Folie is even more mind-bendingly good, but so sour that I couldn’t drink it every day. This style packs a sour punch, black cherries, plums and vinegary action.

This offering from Brouwerij Van Steenberge was a welcome find in a recent trip to the beer store. It was good. Tasty. With all those characteristics I mentioned. Does it stack up? La Folie is hallowed ground for me. And Rodenbach. But I tell you, if I had this for my every-day-for-the-rest-of-my-life-beer (with a few porters sprinkled in to shake up my diet), I would not complain.

People talk so much about wit beers and hefeweizens as being great summertime beers, but I’m here to say that a Flanders Red makes a great summer beer. It was tart and refreshing on a hot day. And that is good.

Yes, lovely. I’ve been spending a little time on The Brewing Network, listening to Jamil’s Show on Flanders Red, as well as Vinnie Cilurzo‘s talk, which popped up on this Sunday Live Show. Maybe it seems like an intimidating beer that will be a hassle for a homebrewer. It does. But now that I have my basement, and the room to sit on a carboy for a year, I’m giving it a go.

I’m inspired, which is what a beer should do.

4 Responses to Thirsty Thursday–Monk’s Cafe

  1. meninweb says:

    Nice Beer Blog, I am also a beer lover, but read this and remember before you take a beer !!!!????

    http://meninweb.blogspot.com/2007/07/soft-drinks-cola-soda-increase-heart.html
    http://meninweb.blogspot.com/

  2. Bailey says:

    Never mind the beer — the photo is mindbending! It looks like a fifty foot high beer bottle. Terrifying.

  3. Wilson says:

    I haven’t gotten around to taking this kind of time: http://boakandbailey.com/?p=123

    That was a very helpful and cool post.

  4. Bailey says:

    I like the photo — it’s distinctly eye-catching. But I wouldn’t want to drink a fifty foot high bottle of sour belgian beer in one sitting.

Leave a Reply

