Contemplating beer paradise

The other day I stumbled upon Monday Night Brewery’s discussion of the Beer Bell Curve, which talked basically about the point at which one’s performance is most enhanced by beer. This was called brewvana, which I found flattering. However, in reading the comments, I hoped to clarify that from my reading, MNB wasn’t calling brewvana drunkenness. In a session of drinking, that would follow whatever term one used for the ultimate performance indicater in a curve. I thought “critical smooth,” offered up by Jack was good for the Curve’s purposes. And I would certainly hope that no one thinks that I consider Andy’s “perma-buzz” an element of brewvana.

 

I clarify because my blog is called brewvana, something that I consider more of a way of living and thinking than a buzzing feeling. While a buzzing feeling sometimes approaches because of the alcohol in this here beverage, perma-buzz really doesn’t have a home in my brewvana. To me, brewvana is a very positive place, and I try to outline that somewhat on my “about” page.

 

“What the heck is brewvana?” it says. “And is it possible to get there? Likely not. But the aim of this blog is to explore the area just at the edge of this lovely little place where we are approaching wisdom. Where compassion is the rule, rather than the exception. Where harmony and joy include handcrafted beers right alongside family time.

 

For the sake of getting further “beerisophical,” I thought I’d throw out this quote from Robert Nye’s The Late Mr. Shakespeare:

 

“The paradise of AL-KA-HOL is achieved with the first three glasses. After that, you drink more and more with just one purpose: to get back to the paradise of the third glass—and you always fail. Why? Because the alcohol transforms you, so that the person who drinks the fourth glass is not the one who drinks the fifth. Nor can you stop at the third glass, in paradise, since like all paradises you do not know you are in it until you have lost it. It is a paradise always lost, and a paradise never to be regained. You might say it is also a hell, and I would not deny you.”

 

In this passage, Nye suggest that three pints might be “critical smooth.” Sadly, this “paradise” seems sought by the alcoholic. A similar paradise is also available to the junky, crack head, serial killer, kleptomaniac or sex offender. Nothing positive there. And not a part of my brewvana.

 I invite your comments and discussion. J. Wilson, brewvana

2 Responses to Contemplating beer paradise

  1. Jonathan says:

    I agree that “critical smooth” is a much more apt definition than “perma-buzz.” Brewvana is not a place you reach by masking the world around you (drunkenness), but rather to achieve a maximum state of life appreciation. Good beer not only makes me appreciate beer, but also appreciate other good things in life. And that is brewvana for me.

  2. Andy says:

    I admit, it was rather uncouth phrasing as I was attempting to capitalize on the humor of the subject. In the context of a bell curve, and the path to enlightenment, I sensed some conflict in the the application of brewvana. I see your definition for brewvana is finding the balance, but it seems nirvana is the outcome of balance. I merely misjudged the use of an old standard, the bell curve, as an oft-used excuse for one’s declining pool playing. “Oh man, I passed the peak and am on the backside. Better find a new partner next game.”

    Obviously there are different views of brewvana, and I think yours is quite quite pleasant.

Leave a Reply

