Thirsty Thursday–Boulevard Brewing

It was not two weeks ago that The Session took on local brews. At that time I was living in a flourishing beer locale, with an excellent selection of craft beers minutes from my front door. Now, I’ve moved halfway across the country to rural Iowa. Nothing much is minutes from my front door. And I mean that in a good way. Watching the sun come up this morning over the rolling hills was lovely. But for the beer geek bent on variety in my diet, this could seem problematic.

At present, only Millstream out of Amana, Iowa, is bottling in the state of Iowa. A drive to a brewpub will start me out at a solid hour and a half. I look forward to that little jaunt. In the meantime, I’ve found one little glint of sunshine in my otherwise beer-dreary landscape: Boulevard Brewing Company, from Kansas City, Missouri. In a beer aisle of Bud, Miller and Coors, I’ve been fortunate enough to find this good stuff in more than one store, as close as 20 miles away. I’ve heard good words about Boulevard’s beers, and have myself been pleased in my dabbling thusfar.

So far, I’ve taken on the roasty Bully Porter and dry stout, as well as Boulevard’s unfiltered wheat, a refreshing libation after a long day of unpacking all my worldly belongings. Sitting out on the porch of my circa 1900 farmhouse out here on the prairie, it makes me wonder what use I have for belongings, when all I need is this view and this quiet.

When I grew up in this very vicinity, I didn’t have much use for it. T.S. Eliot once said, “The end of all our exploring will be to arrive where we started and know the place for the first time.” That’s where I am right now, not 3 miles from where my mom and grandparents grew up. My boys will be attending the same school they did. Ten, fifteen and twenty years ago, nobody would have guessed that this is where I’d be today.

Since graduating from high school, I have done a lot of exploring that has taken me all over the country. And here I am today, happy and satisfied and near family. On top of it all, Boulevard distributes here. A good life indeed.

2 Responses to Thirsty Thursday–Boulevard Brewing

  1. Matt says:

    Glad you made it J! Tell Michelle I said hi and I’ll have Duck Rabbit brew tonight and think of you!

  2. Jonathan says:

    Sounds like we may need to plan a beer swap…

Leave a Reply

