National Homebrew Day 2007

Saturday, May 5, 2007 is National Homebrew Day, a day organized by the American Homebrewers Association. On the first Saturday of May, homebrewers across the country celebrate their hobby by participating in Big Brew, gathering and simultaneously brewing the same recipe. In some cases, clubs manage opportunities to brew as a group in a commercial brewery.

This year’s recipe choices are Griffin Spit IPA, Striking Gold Belgian Strong Ale or Hailbrau Doppelbock. As yet, I’m unsure what I’m going to do this fine day. I’m sure that I won’t be participating in a brew-in with my club. It’s possible that I’ll be brewing quietly at home. It’s possible that I’ll raise a glass to the day. There’s just so much going on these days. If I do brew, I won’t be using one of the Big Brew recipes, as I don’t have the means at present to ferment a lager (the doppelbock) or the inclination for the other two beers.

Maybe a Scottish of some shilling or another. Or maybe a wit for the warming weather. Or both?

For more information on Big Brew X, click here. For a look at the recipes, click here.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

