Beer pairings for regular folks, Part 2

[an occasional series on how “regular folks” can integrate craft beer into their “culinary” endeavors]

My mom was a lousy cook when I was growing up.

She’s better now, but one of the few “dishes” I could look forward to as a kid included the less-than-ambitious grilled cheese sandwich with canned tomato soup on the side. Nowadays, I funkify this dish with alt-cheeses that work well with saisons and double IPAs, but the old school version remains a sentimental favorite and is one of the few uses I have for ketchup. Though I’m liable to throw pan-seared cabbage or grilled asparagus on the side, I find guilty pleasure in the occasional use of lame, processed American cheese slices.

This week, I paired this simple plate of food with a Belgian wheat, which massaged the cheese in a soft and yummy way. A Vienna lager would work nicely to complement the toasty bits of this simple sandwich.

Give ‘em a try!

2 Responses to Beer pairings for regular folks, Part 2

  1. Wendel L. Jackson says:

    This bothers me: “My mom was a lousy cook when I was growing up.”

    I think you should appreciate that at least she was there and willing to spend her time making you a meal, rather than critiquing her cooking skills.

  2. turtleweiss says:

    when I went to Brussels, I didn’t enjoy the prices, but the grilled sandwiches and waffles were pretty good and they paired well with a fresh Hoegarden Wit….good choice indeed.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

