Happy brewvana Day

Cheers! Prost! Salud! and Yee-Haw! Today’s brewvana‘s birthday.

This pensive little beer blog has been pouring harmony, beer and joy into cyberspace for one year today. It’s been fun looking back on this year in a number of different ways: experiences, beers, friends. There’s a lot of energy that goes into a focused beer life like I lead, and even more when you try to blog the whole darned thing. Focused, of course, doesn’t mean living in a drunken blur. Very much the opposite. The focus is quality, not quantity.

High thinking

Medium drinking

Low puking

This is a good way to live, in my opinion. I’d highly recommend it.

What’s been popular?

So taking a look back at the stats for these past 365 days, I notice that not everyone found me with beer on their mind. My top-viewed post was Izzy Inspired Living, and not-so-coincidentally Izzy Stradlin has been the number one search term bringing readers to this little place I call brewvana. Izzy only beat out BB King on the search competition because people couldn’t decide how to spell BB. There were six different spellings of BB King in the top 13 search terms, with others specifically looking for BB King pictures, photos and/or fotos a little further down the line. That all came out of a post called Brew Like a BB King. I’m glad they’ve received heavy traffic, as they both epitomize the philosophy of this blog.

Having celebrities in my post titles, along with talking about women and beer (6 women, 6 decades, 6 beers); delving into a deep series (The Gospel According to St. Arnold); (hosting The Session (The Session #11–Doppelbock, the Illuminator); and having well-meaning, yet controversial ideas (Over-analysis Syndrome) are clearly ways to generate traffic. I’d encourage you to check out these posts, if you haven’t already. But everything’s not all deep and pensive. Sometimes I talk about bacon and long-lost beer.

First time for everything

Despite having brewed for over a decade, writing a blog and staying focused (and moving to a home with a cellar) has brought a number of firsts this year. I brewed my first Berliner Weisse (long gone), my first Flanders Red (2 more months of secondary) and my first lager (just tapped the second keg of For Those About To Bock). I took and passed the BJCP exam to become a Certified Beer Judge. And, Izzy-like, I’m finally getting myself geared toward my dreams, in terms of my work life.

What’s further firsts do I have planned? Oh, so many beers to try, for sure. But priority breweries for me are the nectars of Russian River and The Lost Abbey. I’m planning my first trip to the Great Taste of the Midwest. I’m planning a serious Baltic porter, a double-barrel dubbel and a my first mild. This will be my Dark Beer Summer, which ought to be a pretty self-explanatory endeavor. Join me; won’t you?

And much more.

It’s been great getting to know some of you. I hope this humble blog has brightened your day and skewed your views in some good way. I don’t know about you, but I’m drinking something special tonight.

Peace and Pints!

Wilson

6 Responses to Happy brewvana Day

  1. Deacon says:

    I for one have greatly enjoyed reading your blog. I got hooked after reading the “Gospel According to Saint Arnold” series and have been coming back ever since. Keep up the good work!

  2. Boak says:

    Well done and happy birthday! Do keep posting, it’s always worth reading.

  3. Chipper Dave says:

    Grats on your 1st blog birthday! I subscribe to your blog via Bloglines and look forward to reading more.

  4. Wilson, happy anniversary! Stop by and see us on the Aleuminati when you have time!

  5. Dave says:

    A belated Happy Birthday to brewvana. I’d toast to the day, but it looks like I missed it. Cheers, anyway! Always catch you when I can.

  6. [...] I’d planned on a bit of a site facelift around the time of my first anniversary, BUT that just didn’t happen. Finally, I take a Sunday morning to fool around a little. Maybe [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

