The Session #8–Beer and Food

The SessionI’ll be blunt–I love beer and food. I enjoy them both daily, often together. I don’t have to pay big bucks to attend a beer dinner; I live like that. It’s a good way to live.

Richly fulfilling, a good meal with family or friends can’t be beaten–unless there are well chosen beers involved. Sometimes the meals are planned around the beers that are thirsted after, the beers that are in the fridge, the beers that came back from a vacation. And the recipe needn’t be strenuous. Like a simple, well-brewed beer, one needn’t do backflips to craft a solid meal (though backflip beers and meals are also wonderful).

A couple summers ago, my family took a little trip to Delaware to visit Dogfish Head Craft Brewery. We toured the brewery, loaded up on Midas Touch and Raison D’Etre and paired World Wide Stout with roasted marshmallows around the fire–to this day, the best food pairing I’ve ever tasted.

TroegenatorOf course, before returning home, we stocked up on a few nuggets unavailable in our own market. One sixer that came home was Troegs Brewing Company‘s Troegenator Double Bock. A malt-alicious monster of love, this beer was. Hmmm…I thought. What should we have for dinner tonight?

I was craving brats, but not just the same old brats on the grill. I needed something new. After a little rumination on the flavors, I came up with a little something I call Doppel-brat Stew. Easy and flavorful.

With amazing food days like this one, I can’t imagine going back to the mundane sludge on which I grew up. There’s so much more to life than canned green beans and Hamburger Helper. Fortunate circumstances rescued me from a life of blah food. I am thankful.

Everything is okay now. Couple the tasty victuals with the yummy libations, and the good life just got better.

Pass me a doppelbock.

__________

For your cooking sensations, here ’tis:

DOPPEL-BRAT STEW

Ingredients:

6-8 New potatoes, quartered

3 T Butter

1 Onion, sliced

5 Brats, freed from their casings

1 Can diced tomatoes, drained

1 Tsp beef base

2 Bay leaves

12 Ounces Troegenator, or other fine doppelbock

Salt/Pepper, to taste

Procedure:

Boil potatoes (then drain and set aside until needed). Saute onions in butter briefly, then add brats and brown. Add tomatoes, beef base, bay leaves, beer and salt and pepper. Cover and simmer 20-30 minutes. Add potatoes and toss gently. Adjust salt and pepper.

Serve with fresh bread, to mop up the juices, and–you guessed it–another doppelbock.

Clink ‘em and drink ‘em!

__________

Need a dessert idea? Click here for a bonus recipe, tried and true.

Many thanks to this month’s host: Captain Hops at Beer Haiku Daily.

3 Responses to The Session #8–Beer and Food

  1. [...] Brewvana (story, pairing, recipe): J. Wilson makes a strong case for living well with good food and beer and then shares his special recipe for Doppel-Brat Stew. [...]

  2. Bob Skilnik says:

    This is the kind of recipe I like; take some traditional ingredients and reinvent. I’m of the opinion that by this stage of our culinary history, new food recipes are nothing more than another stage in food evolution. You can’t “invent” a new food recipe, all you can do is come up with a great twist on an old recipe (or recipes) like you did. The secret is being inventive. You have admirably succeeded.

    I might try this recipe this weekend.

  3. [...] cheesy beer life I find that a beer life, especially for a homebrewer, is also a foodie life, a coffee-soaked life, and sometimes a little bacony. This week, my life got cheesier than ever [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

